Run for the Water

Hi everyone!

On Sunday I ran the Run for the Water 10 miler, my first race since March. The race benefited the Gazelle foundation. The Gazelle foundation installs spring-fed water systems in Burandi. So far they have helped thousands of Burandians have access to clean water! I was worried I wouldn’t be able to finish, or the last mile or 2 would be a struggle, but it was fine! My time was 1:36:42 total and 48:07 for the first 5 miles. So my average pace was 9:40. Not bad! I ranked 20th out of 32 for the female 20-24 group.

To refuel after the race, my mom and I headed over the Sugar Mama’s Bakeshop for free vegan cupcakes. They were having their 3rd birthday/Halloween bash. We got a pumpkin with cinnamon buttercream and a ‘french toast’ cupcake. They were so awesome we forgot to take a picture!

On Friday we had a Halloween party in French. I brought some chocolate cupcakes with orange frosting. The cupcakes are from Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World. The frosting was my own recipe, but it didn’t turn out very well. It got too wet and dripped slowly of the cupcakes. They were still tasty, of course, but just very messy too eat, and not very visually appealing after this started to happen. Fortunately, they still looked okay when I brought them to my class, but the leftovers from class that I took home with me started to get drippy later that day.

I celebrated my boyfriend’s birthday recently. He requested a peach cobbler rather than a cake. I had never made a peach cobbler before, but I found a recipe in Vegan with a Vengeance and used that. It was delicious. He was very pleased! I decided to make him something rather than buy something, so I took an old apple juice jug and painted the logo of his favorite soccer team on it. I think he liked it.

I’m gearing up for my first half marathon on November 13th in San Antonio. I will have to work hard to get my mileage up, since I haven’t done more than 10 miles since before my injury.

What do you usually do for your significant other’s birthday?

Is there a dessert you would prefer over cake for your birthday? For me, no way! It’s not a birthday celebration without cake! But I have a raging sweet tooth.

Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

