Train Without Pain

Hi everyone! I haven’t posted in a while because school has been keeping me very busy lately, but I’m going to try to post at least once a week from now on.

A few weeks ago I went to screening called Train Without Pain at a running store called Luke’s Locker. Some physical therapists from New Dimensions came to the store and gave individual evaluations of each participant to determine whether there are problem areas that could cause (or have already caused) an injury. They evaluated the strength of important muscles, range of motions, and flexibility and recommended exercises to improve weak areas. They also watched me run to determine whether I was in good form, and looked at my feet.

I discovered that I am very flexible, except my IT band and hip flexors, and I have an excellent range of motion. However, several of my muscles were weak, including most of the muscles in my hips, my gluteus medius, and my hamstrings. They told me that I have excellent form! I land on my midfoot and take more, smaller steps. However, as I suspected, I over-pronate. I have a medium arch that tends to flatten out when I stand on it, but they showed me that because my feet are very flexible, I can mold them so that I do have an arch when I stand up. I definitely recommend this running screening to anyone in the Austin area. It costs $65, but it is worth it.

 

 

 

 

 

To correct for my over-pronation, I got some motion controlled running shoes. I chose some Nike lunar elite 2. Although I also liked the Brooks Adrenaline. These shoes are shockingly green inside!

I have the Run for the Water 10 Miler coming up this weekend. I’m really excited, as it’s my first race since March and my second race ever. When I first started running again after my injury, I was slow and couldn’t run for very long, but not I’m back up to 9.3 miles, so I think I’m ready for the race this weekend. After that, I have couple of half marathons coming up.

Here are some delicious, fat free cookies I made from the Happy Herbivore cookbook. They are very soft, cake like cookies. It only makes 11-16 cookies, and they will get eaten quickly, so make a double batch!

 

 

 

 

 

I will leave you with pictures of my cat being adorable. She gets in “crazy mode” sometimes, where she runs around the apartment running from/chasing imaginary things, and then jumps into the bathtub. I have no idea why she goes into the bathtub.

Do you have any upcoming races?

Do you have any pets? Do they do crazy, adorable things?

Thanks for reading! Have a great day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

