Turkey Trot and Thanksgiving

Hi everyone! Yesterday I ran in the Thundercloud Subs 5 mile Turkey Trot. My time was 46:03! This was actually the shortest race I’ve done so far. I kind of messed up my pacing because I started too close to the starting line (with people faster than me :P). I felt really slow and sluggish, and like my legs and butt were frozen because it was cold and I was wearing shorts. However, when I got to the 1 mile marker, I saw that my watch said 8:49, which is a little too fast for me to keep up for 5 miles! I just felt slow because everyone around me was running faster and passing me.

After that first mile, I slowed down. But I had tired myself out too much. I probably could have ended up with a better time if I hadn’t gone so fast at the beginning. At the very end, when I had maybe a quarter mile left, my side started hurting so badly, I wanted to stop, but I couldn’t when I was so close to finishing. At that point a wanted to finish as soon as possible, but I couldn’t run very fast when I was in so much pain. I ended up finishing with a decent time. I met my boyfriend and dad at the finish line and then we went to my parent’s house for a thanksgiving feast.

I made some popcorn tofu using Wheatsville’s recipe in the Sunny Days in Texas recipe book. In my opinion, it was better than to popcorn tofu you can buy at Wheatsville.

We had a delicious fruit salad with cantaloupe, grapes, oranges, pineapple, and blackberries to start.

Here is my plate, with tofurkey, gravy, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes with vegan marshmellows, stuffing, green beans, quinoa, popcorn tofu, and a croissant roll.

And dessert, of course! Pumpkin pie that kind of fell apart, apple pie, and Purely Decadent cookie dough ice cream.

Everything was so delicious! It was a great way to refuel after my race. I think running 5 miles before eating a Thanksgiving meal is a great way to not feel overly full and guilty afterwards.

Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turkey Trot and Thanksgiving

  1. Congrats on the awesome race. Even though you didn’t feel your strongest, that is an AWESOME time! Glad you had a good thanksgiving and I know you will do great in your coming up full marathon. :)

Leave a Reply

